American Dental Association sedation guidelines provide that a dentist should complete at least 16 hours of instructive classroom training with clinically-oriented experiences before providing healthy patients with minimal sedation using oral sedatives.
Most states require dentists to complete a 60-hour didactic course followed by 20 actual clinical patient cases of IV administration plus a permit in order to provide their patients with IV sedation. Find an IV Sedation Training course
Nitrous Oxide Regulations
Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry Rule §33.337 requires dentists to complete at least 14 hours of classroom and clinical training, and obtain a Restricted II permit before providing their patients with minimal sedation using nitrous-oxide and an oral sedative.
Clinically tested and up-to-date nitrous-oxide and oral minimal sedation techniques are being taught at a training program in Dallas, TX (October 20-21, 2017) that meets these requirements.
Special sessions regarding patient selection/assessment, airway management, medical emergencies, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, contraindications, documentation, certification, monitoring, inventory, and dispensing of medications are also included.
This course provides 16 hours of CE credits and may be applied to your CE requirements for license renewal. DOCS Education is an AGD PACE-approved provider [#217651].
*Dentists in Pennsylvania who practice minimal sedation using nitrous-oxide and an oral sedative without a current permit may face fines and reprimands.
Stay in the Loop on Your State's Regulatory Changes - Subscribe to the Regulatory Alert email system today!